Ranger Still Evolving!

After the price hike on our 1/6 scale wooden products, there has been a significant decline in sales, which was an expected and welcome change of events (see my last video update).

But sales didn’t’ stop completely. Especially for Ranger.  The slow-down has allowed me to devote more time on each of these armatures and focus my efforts on making subtle refinements. But also giving me the luxury of being far more picky with pieces that get approved for assembly.

Here are some images showing what these latest refinements look like. For the most part it’s cosmetic, such as getting a much cleaner and flush alignment between the magnets on the foot and toe with the base of the foot piece.  Design-wise the socked at the top of the torso changed substantially. I was really happy with the socket design I came up with for the A10-Ballerina so I borrowed it from her and gave it to Ranger as well.    Something that is also really helping is the different contact finish from glossy to matte.  This was something that showed up on the trim pieces because they were printed on a glossy surface and I’ve switched to matte.  It’s more difficult to do and more prone to failures, but it’s something I can afford to do now given the change in price.

So yeah, all in all very subtle stuff but I wanted to put this together to let you know I’ve always got my antennae up for potential ways in which the armature can improve. And any time I have a little bit of resource (be it time or financial) I tend to devote it to making improvements.  All of this then trickles out to all the sibling products over time so I’ve included some photos of those below as well.

Finally, perhaps the biggest change is that A9-Kid and A9-Teen come with articulated wooden hands instead of the plastic fists. The size of hand is still too big for those age groups but I’m sure I’ll work on shrinking them down in months ahead especially as I work and learn to make articulated hands for Rider.

OH! And all 1/6 scale purchases come with a life-time warranty (which is pretty freakin’ amazing if you think about it). Platforms come included as well.  And all those armatures priced at $300 and above come with a year subscription to our online content from which you can score monthly 50% off sales.   So in a way, if you were intending to buy lots of our products, our new approach to pricing may have just saved you a TON of money.

 

This is Ranger (xx). She’s looking more beautiful than ever!

This is the new quadruped design. The way the storefront will work is you’ll be able to select whichever head and neck combination you want.

This is the latest A9-Teen which now comes with articulated magnetic hands.

 

But of all the things I’ve helped bring into this world nothing will ever compare or come close to my children.  And as a “daddy” of two beautiful bottles of sunshine I know all too well the important role we (fathers) play in the life of children and how we help shape the next generation through our example. Even my own Dad whom is now a proud grandpa continues to be a father figure and supporting me in his own way. This weekend him and my Mom stopped by to take the kids for a few days so me and the misses could get some quiet time.

So to all the men out there that strive each day for the well-being of their children I say to you, Happy Father’s Day! Keep being awesome.

 

Leave a Reply

